GOOD VS EVIL

Good Web Design

One example of good web design is Tumblr.com.

The interface is simple and beautiful. It’s easy to sign up for and the mobile app is great too.

Another good example of good web design is YouTube.com

Works fantastic in browser and on mobile browsers. It also has a great mobile app. Best of all it is simple, easy to navigate, and provides endless entertainment.

BAD/Evil web design

MY first example of some horrible/EVIL web design is FACEBOOK

Facebook is one of those sites that makes me wish it never existed. Unfortunately it is also very useful for networking. When it actually is working well. The developers are always changing the website and not for the better. The mobile app is horrible even on the fastest smartphone available. The mobile browser doesn’t even allow the option of desktop view any more and it just as slow and crashes as much as the app. Let’s say you have a bunch “friends” you want to delete down to people you actually want to communicate with and see there posts. You have to delete every person individually and reload the page. It get’s exhausting.

Another example of not so good web design is right her on WordPress. The mobile browser version is rubbish and the app is irritatingly slow and backgrounds and other customizations don’t even show up. Also, lets just face it. The dashboard is way to cluttered and hard to find what you need as well as not being able to adjust the size of the window you are drafting your blog inside of while trying to see . I am still also trying to figure out whether I can actually position pictures in a particular spot among the text.

Tags: , , , , ,

About i101akarn

Greetings, My name is Andrew Karn and I am a freshman at IUPUI studying informatics. I graduated in 2007 and this is my first time back to school after a 5 year break. Not much of a blogger so looks like we may be in for a little adventure. Originally I was planning to go somewhere into the culinary field , but never actually attended a university. I did however spend the past 6+ years working in 2 of the best restaurants in Indiana. After my years in the kitchen I ultimately decided that it just wasn't what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. So back to school I go! Now that I'm 24 and married it seems a little awkard and out of the "norm", but technology has always been one of my top interests and I can't wait to get elbow deep in informatics. Also after viewing the WordPress website, I'm starting to feel like this could start to become more than just an assignment.

Leave a Reply

